Salute to Congress

The Salute to Congress award plaque.


Purchase a Ticket


Purchase a Table


The International Propeller Club's 33rd annual Salute to Congress will honor Senator Mazie K. Hirono (Hawaii) with an event to be held at the Army Navy Country Club in Arlington, Virginia, on May 2, 2017. Since its inception, the Salute has recognized one legislator each year for his or her efforts on behalf of the maritime industry, and by extension, is intended to thank all Members of Congress for their support.

Senator Hirono is the ranking minority member of the Senate's Subcommittee on Seapower and supports many programs of importance to maritime community. She understands the Nation's need to continue our history of a strong Merchant Marine and pursues legislation and policies with that goal in mind. Read our news story for more on the Senator and her leadership on maritime issues. 

To attend: Tables of 10 and individual tickets for the dinner are available for a cost of $250/attendee and include a cocktail reception beginning at 6:15 and three-course dinner at 7:30. Seats can be purchased using the buttons on the left side of this page or by calling 703-691-2777. You can also reserve your space using the online form mentioned below.

Nearby accommodations: The deadline has now passed for booking within our block of rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn at Shirlington.  Please contact the Propeller Club office if you need assistance.    

To show your support:
Sponsorship opportunities and advertising in the dinner program are also available. Click here for more information about these possibilities and to submit an online form reserving your spot. 

Propeller Club Ports can show their support for the event as a "Port Sponsor" with a $500 contribution. (Or if you prefer, Propeller Club Ports receive a discount on program ads.)

For table buyers: For those who have reserved a table, please click here to confirm the names of your guests.

For additional information,
please call 703-691-2777 or e-mail us. 

History of the Salute: You can see a list of past recipients of the Salute to Congress Award here.

Senator HironoThe Honorable Mazie K. Hirono, (Hawaii), the 2017 Salute to Congress recipient.


2013 Salute to Congress recipient, Rep. Elijah Cummings, received the award from then-International President Sonny Smith of Paducah, Kentucky.